Sport Management Majors Honored at 28th Scholar-Athlete Banquet

Sport Management Majors Honored at 28th Scholar-Athlete Banquet

In late February, 18 student-athletes at Rice University were honored at the 28th Scholar-Athlete Banquet, presented by the “R” Association and the Office of Academic Advising for Athletics. The 2014 Scholar Athletes had the highest GPAs on their respective teams. Of the 18 Scholar Athletes, 3 are majoring in Sport Management. They are:

Klein Kubiak - Football

Megan Shafer – Women’s Basketball

Amy Czyz – Women’s Soccer

Scholar-Athlete Winners '14

“I am very grateful to have been picked as one of the two football Scholar Athletes,” Kubiak said. “Being selected is the greatest achievement of my collegiate career and I couldn’t be more proud to be a part of such impressive company.”

In addition, the Scholar-Athletes attended the banquet with their favorite professors, who were also honored at the event. Three professors in the Sport Management Department, Dr. Jason Sosa, Tom Stallings, and Dr. Clark Haptonstall, were among the favorite educators chosen by the Scholar Athletes majoring in Sport Management.

“It is always enjoyable to see our Sport Management majors performing so well in the classroom and being recognized for their achievements,” Haptonstall said. “It is a proud moment for the student to stand in front of the room and be honored in front of their parents, coaches, and teammates. It is a tremendous sacrifice to play Division I sports while also excelling in the classroom. They deserve to be applauded.”

The banquet also presented various academic awards to student-athletes. The following Sport Management majors were honored with academic awards:

Paul Porras – Football
CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-District VII
Conference USA All Academic Team

Laurie McNamara – Volleyball
Magna Cum Laude
Phi Beta Kappa

Natalie Beazant – Women’s Tennis
Conference USA All-Academic Team

Charles “Trey” Johnson – Golf
Conference USA Commissioners’ Academic Medal

Meredith Gamble – Women’s Track
Conference USA Commissioners’ Academic Medal

Cali Roper – Women’s Track
Conference USA Commissioners’ Academic Medal

Landon Michelson – Golf
Golf Coaches Association All-American Scholar

Daniela Trigo-Beyer – Women’s Tennis
Intercollegiate Tennis Association Scholar Athlete Award

In addition, the following Sport Management majors were named 2014 Honor Athletes:

Raiford Stainback – Baseball
Nicholas Elder – Football
Tanyan Farley – Football
James Farrimond – Football
Cameron Nwosu – Football
Paul Porras – Football
Andrew Reue – Football
Landon Michelson – Golf
Travis Roberts – Men’s Track and Field
Natalie Beazant – Women’s Tennis
Dominique Bessette – Women’s Swimming
Catherine Gamble – Women’s Track and Field
Mariah Riddlesprigger –Volleyball

Molly Mohr, a junior from San Antonio, is double majoring in Sport Management and English and minoring in Business.